Friday, August 8


July and Le Tour de France are over, the Tour having been won by Carlos Sastre from Team CSC Saxo Bank. The whole CSC team put on a great show and the win is much deserved. At the beginning of the season, the company CSC announced that they would not be sponsoring the team in 2009, so the Tour was an important win for them; they showed their strength to potential future sponsors.

Now, we're looking forward to August, and the Olympics in Beijing. For road cycling, each country is allowed five riders for the road race and two for the time trial. Here is the American line-up, a virtual dream-team of current American cycling:

1. George Hincapie, 35 (Greenville, South Carolina) Road Race
2. Levi Leipheimer, 34 (Santa Rosa, California) Road Race, Time Trial
3. Jason McCartney, 34 (Coralville, Iowa) Road Race
4. Christian Vande Velde, 32 (Boulder, Colorado) Road Race
5. David Zabriskie, 29 (Salt Lake City, Utah) Road Race, Time Trial
The Men's Cycling Individual Road and Time Trial races will be on August 8-13th; I don't know when/where the coverage will be on TV, but there you have it. Additional info is on the Olympic Road Cycling site.

Post a Comment